top of page

Elections 2024: A Preservation Primer

On March 5, 2024, local voters will choose between 30 candidates running to represent San José and Santa Clara County in nine important races: San Jose Mayor, five San Jose City Council seats, and three Santa Clara County Board of Supervisor seats. Those who are elected will have a significant influence on local land use decisions, planning initiatives, and funding priorities that directly affect historic preservation efforts city- and county-wide.   

To better inform voters and candidates alike on major policy issues related to historic preservation, PAC*SJ distributed the following nine-question survey to each candidate. Click on the profile pictures below to read each candidate's responses (those with an [*] have not responded to the survey). 

As a non-profit 501(c)3 organization, PAC*SJ does not make candidate endorsements. However, we strongly encourage you to learn more about each candidate's position on these issues and to vote by March 5th

San Jose City Council Candidates

District 2

Pamela Campos

Joe Lopez

Vanessa Sandoval

Babu Prasad*

*Has not responded to survey

District 4

Kansen Chu

David Cohen

District 6

Michael Mulcahy

Angelo "AJ" Pasciuti

Alex Shoor

Olivia Navarro*

*Has not responded to survey

District 8

Sukhdev Bainiwal

Domingo Candelas*

Surinder “Suri” Kaur Dhaliwal*

Tam Troung*

*Has not responded to survey

District 10

Arjun Batra*

George Casey

Lenka Wright

*Has not responded to survey

San Jose Mayoral Candidates

Tyrone Wade

Matt Mahan*

*Has not responded to survey

Santa Clara County Supervisor Candidates

District 2

Jennifer Celaya

Betty Duong

Corina Herrera-Loera

Madison Nguyen

Nelson McElmurry

District 3

Otto Lee*

*Has not responded to survey

District 5

Margaret Abe-Koga

Barry Chang

Peter C. Fung

Sally Lieber

Sandy Sans*

*Has not responded to survey

bottom of page